I'm so tired of the heat. Really. It's like you wake up and you're ok because you've left the AC on all night at 23-25 degrees and it's only moderately [sufficiently] cool in your apt. But then...you open your front door, and by the time you make it out of your building, sweat is creeping up on your brow and under your arms...ugh!
If you've ever lived in Tokyo or been here during the months of July, August, and half of September, you know what I'm talking about. By the time August is in, the outdoors are living sauna, left on 24 hours a day. Walking outside is comparable to swimming in hot water, with the sun glaring down at you the whole time, and you've got these really uncomfortable clothes that seem to stick to you everywhere. And let me point out the fact that in Japan, all work attire is business formal, so let's think about this--bottom and blazer, and shirt + 35 degree weather. I'm sweating just thinking about it. Forget blow drying your hair, straightening it, forget make up, or looking done up--it's hopeless. The second you set foot outside, hair has become a fro, and make-up has begun to slowly smudge and drip down your face. You end up looking like a raccoon, or a clown, or Joker...well you get the point. And forget drinking water, because by the time you've finished drinking that 500ml bottle, you've about sweat out the same amount. Hopeless.
And it's funny in Japan-- depending on how big or how major the nearest train station is or whether it is a subway or JR line, you may be lucky enough to experience a little relief in the station on the platform. If not, the conditions are about double the heat of the outside, with the occasional fan blowing hot air at you [and all the dust and dirt from the tracks]. And then comes the train. You're thinking YAY, the trains have AC...but wait, you're part of the morning commute...which means you are part of the 10 million people that commute on the trains every morning...which means...sardine packed subway cars!! So many people packed into each car that all you see from the outside are the breath stains of condensation on the windows and people's bodies plastered onto the doors of the cars. You're lucky if you can inhale your own breath!
Hopeless.
Then you get to work, and people are looking at you as if you've you been out drinking all night [or came down with the flu]: You're drenched in sweat, you're clothes are wrinkled and messy, your hair is sticking up everywhere, you're face is pale [or really red], you stink [despite the fact you showered 20 minutes ago], and your face looks like you put on your make-up with a hair brush in the dark.
Hopeless.
How am I supposed to look like a human being in this weather?!
Couldn't agree more. I'm sweating buckets in what is officially the hottest Japanese summer on record (great...*sigh*).
ReplyDeletePlus there's the issue of cockroach infestation and the presence of cicadas dropping down from the trees every now and then..another blessing of the unwanted tropical weather conditions we have to put up with.
I do have hope that the worst of this heatwave is behind us though. Bring on the autumn!
weird.. I just posted a comment but it didn't publish probably I think. Since I couldn't see it. I may be posting the same thing twice? Just to say I've started up my page again and was going to ask if you could follow my blog again and write a brief comment. Apologies if this is written twice :P
ReplyDelete